Professor S.O. Adeosun B.Sc. (OAU), M.Sc. (U.I.), Ph.D. (Lagos) Head


The teaching of Metallurgy and Materials in the University of Lagos began in 1967 with the introduction of a course in Materials Science for all year one students of the then 3-year B.Sc. Engineering degree programme.

When the Nigerian Steel Development Authority (NSDA) began to recruit Metallurgical Engineers for the proposed Iron and Steel project in 1971, it became obvious that there was a dearth of such professionals in the country. The NSDA solved the problem by giving graduates of various science disciplines conversion training in metallurgy in institutions in Asia and Europe at very high cost to the nation.

The then Department of Mechanical Engineering considered that the conversion exercise could be done locally at a much lower cost to the nation in a Postgraduate Diploma programme in collaboration with NSDA. The proposals were accepted and the programme took off in October 1978 with eighteen students, fourteen of whom were from the NSDA. A hundred and two (102) metallurgists were trained on the programme before it was suspended in 1983 because of shortage of staff.

In 1985, Senate approved a B.Sc. degree programme in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering to be run in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. The programme commenced in 1990. Five sets of graduates were produced before the programme was moved to a new department.

The new Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering which was formally established on 20th January, 2000, graduated its 16th set of students at the end of the 2016/2017 academic session. It currently has staff strength of twenty-four academic staff, six technical staff, six administrative staff and a driver.

The Department runs Postgraduate programmes at the Diploma, Masters and Doctoral Levels.

Since inception, the Department has had the followings as the head:

Prof. S.A Balogun – February 2000 to 31st July, 2006.

Dr. G.I. Lawal – 1st August, 2006 to 31st July, 2008.

Dr. D.E. Esezobor – 1st August, 2008 to 31st July, 2009

Prof. D.E Esezobor – 1st August, 2009 to 31st July, 2012

Prof. G.I. Lawal- 1st August, 2012 to 31st July, 2015

Prof. S.B. Hassan – 1st August, 2015 to 31st July, 2018

Prof. S.O. Adeosun – 1st August, 2018 to date