Professor David Stan Aribike; B.Sc, M.Sc., Ph.D Head of Department


The Department was established in October 1973 with an intake of fifteen students for the three-year Bachelor of Science (Honours) Degree Course with the GCE A-­Level entry qualification. This pioneering set graduated in June, 1976. The programme had since then been modified to one which leads to the Bachelor of Science (Honours) Degree in Chemical Engineering in five years with the Senior Secondary School Certificate or GCE O-Level qualification, In the last eight years the Department has been admitting into the 200 Level, students from University of Lagos Diploma II (Foundation) Program. The current yearly students intake averages one hundred. Courses offered in the Department lead to the award of B.Sc (Hons) degree in Chemical Engineering at the undergraduate level. The programme has obtained the official recognition of the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN). The programme has also been accredited by the National University Commission (N.U.C.).

The Department also has Petroleum and Gas Engineering Programme, which was established in 2001/2002 academic session with an intake of thirty students for the five-year Bachelor of Science (Honours) Degree course. This pioneering set graduated in the 2006/2007 Academic Session. The programme is an integrated one which leads to the award of Bachelor of Science (Honours) Degree in Petroleum and Gas Engineering in five Sessions after the Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE) or the GCE O-Ievel qualification.

Furthermore, the Department has Post-graduate Programmes in Chemical Engineering, which involve course work and research leading to the award of the Post Graduate Diploma (PGD), fv1aster of Science (M.Sc.), Master in Process Engineering (M.P.E.), Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) Degrees.